Helsinki (Day off)

The rest of the team went home but we stayed another night and are leaving for Oslo in the morning. This gave us a free day here in Helsinki and will also give us a free day in Oslo which gives us a chance to get to know the towns and become friends with some local old wise men or a gang of young guys that play in a band or some other people maybe. It´s nice with a day off because it gave us time to rest and get back into shape. We really need it during this tour.

So today we slept a lttle longer than usual and then we went out with mr X now sitting up in his pram. We went to Helena heaven 2 which I must admit is now Martinique heaven too =), It was the Fazer shop and café where we bought ice cream and sat down. We usually don´t see a lot of famous people but today we were lucky. Black Adder was sitting at the table behind us, also eating ice ceam:

Lakritsa, pärynnä and Fazer nougat I believe he had chosen

Lakritsa, pärynnä and Fazer nougat I believe he had chosen

He had his one-egged twin with him:

He had chosen exactly the same ice cream balls as Black Adder,,,spookey,,

He had chosen exactly the same ice cream balls as Black Adder,,,spookey,,

And here follows a cascade of goodies so you sensitive office-workers be aware (looking is at your own risk):

There was a cage where white dressed lab rats made the cakes by hand

There was a cage where white dressed lab rats made the cakes by hand

Every day at 17.00  chef has a show, showing how to make stuff like this

Every day at 17.00 chef has a show, showing how to make stuff like this

If only every candy here was a millon bucks of mine

If only every candy here was a millon bucks of mine

If you are a mouse and yore getting married, put these on top of your cake. It will symbolize yo and your partner.

If you are a mouse and you´re getting married, put these on top of your cake. It will symbolize you and your partner. Helsinki is way ahead.

And for todays big food question:

Which is your favourite ice cream flavour? (mine is coconut, go crazy and comment)

9 Responses to “Helsinki (Day off)”

  1. Alison Says:

    Häagen-Dazs wins best ice cream for me every time! Vanilla Bean and Cookies & Cream are my two favourites!

  2. Cecilia Says:

    You gonna kill me!!!!! I am on a diet!!! And what did i see? Ice creams, candies and cakes!!! I love them.

    My favourite ice cream flavour is dulce de leche granizado (granizado in this case means chocolate chips).

    Do you know dulce de leche? It´s typical thing from Argentina, in other countries call caramel…it´s like caramel but is not the same. So my favourite flavour is caramel with chocolate chips.

    Great to have a day off in the middle of the shows!

  3. Ilya Says:

    Oh, ice cream flavour is very easy. Only twice in my life I’ve eaten the most tasty ice cream EVER.
    1) In Junibaken in Stockholm in 2004
    2) Near the fortres at North of the Center of Copenhagen in 2007 (near the Mermaid statue, near the yacht club)

    Both were blueberry (which is also very popular in Russia) and creamy one with mint chocolade. I like natural berries and don’t like any “chemical” pinaples, bananas, etc.

    Nuts and some chocolade could be a nice topping. As I lived 4 years in Africa, coconut is also great and I like it not only in ice cream, but also in cakes and bisquits!)))))

    In Tel-Aviv there’s a quater called Neve-Tzedek, built in early 1930s in a nice colonial style, Bauhaus, recognized by UNESCO as a world’s heritage. And there’s an ice-ceam shop, where they produce the most tasty ice cream in Israel for the last 70 years. One of the best gelaterias I’ve ever seen…. %)))))))

    And yes, I was born and lived 25 years in St. Petersburg, so we travelled to Helsinki almost every weekend (it’s only 390 km) so every time I brought Fazer chocolade home as a souvenir for my friends. And of course I’ve tasted Finnish cakes, they are absolutely fantastic…))))))))

    Sorry for writing sooo much..)) But you’ve asked?..

  4. Judith Says:

    the best cake I’ve ever eaten it’s the chocolate cake at Chokladkoppen in Gamla!!!! Great great great 🙂 A must visit whenever I am in Sthlm.

  5. Kamila Says:

    My favourite flavour is cinnamon, strawberry and vanilla best served with some bits of chocolate.

  6. elena Says:

    hej,

    tell helena to lose those pants on the next shows, i’m sure she would look lovely without them. It’s bad for the nice dress to wear those pants. I just thought you should know this… (it’s not just me, other girls say it too)

  7. Anderson Trevisan Says:

    I like flavour of “cream”… but chocolate is wellcome, too. I like ice cream with coffee… it’s delcious – the both mixed, of course, in the same cup.

  8. Neil Curran Says:

    You look drunk there….no offence

Leave a Reply

